The shortened version of cricket, Twenty20 or T20 is the perfect
dose for all cricket enthusiasts. The game has come a long way
right from the days when only test matches were being played.
Then in 1971 the first One-day international was played between
Australia and England at the MCG. This was the beginning of the
shortened version of the game. The game became popular amongst
the masses.

The England and Wales cricket board decided on an innovation.
The board started coining the idea of shortening the length of
the game even further – to 20 overs-a-side. The idea was to go
with the modern times and give the game some boost. This gave
birth to twenty20 or simply put T20 cricket. The first official
T20 game was played on June 13, 2003 between English counties.
The first T20 season in England was a success. The final was
played between Surrey Lions and Warwickshire Bears. Surrey won
by 9 wickets to lift the cup. Lord’s hosted the first T20 game
on July 15, 2004. The game was between Surrey and Middlesex. It
attracted a crowd of over 26,000. The fever spread across the
world. Other test playing nations started embracing this new
version of the game.

Australia beat New Zealand in the first ever international T20
match on February 17, 2005. This was played at Eden Park,
Auckland. India made a late foray into T20. India played its
first match against South Africa in Johannesburg on December 1,
2006. India won that match by 6 wickets. Different cricketing
nations started their own version of T20. India started Indian
Cricket league (ICL) and Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008.
IPL has received bigger response from the masses. The first
version of IPL was played in April 2008 in India. There was a
good mix of Indian and foreign players in every team. Eight
teams participated and Team Rajasthan beat Team Chennai in
finals played at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

T20 World Cup 2007

Winner : India
was the first World Twenty20, where 12 teams
participated, divided into four groups of three, then
two groups of four in quarter-finals; top two into
semi-finals. Besides the 10 full members, Kenya and
Scotland were the other two teams participating in this
tournament that was played on three different grounds,
Wanderers, Kingsmead and Newlands. The tournament was a
huge success. It had everything required for top quality
entertainment, including the world’s best players and
packed out stadiums. The tournament got underway with a
stunning display of power hitting from Chris Gayle
against South Africa. He clouted 117 off 57 balls,
including 10 sixes. Shaun Pollock, Makhaya Ntini- nobody
was spared. If this wasn’t enough, Yuvraj Singh achieved
cricketing nirvana by hitting England’s Stuart Broad for
six sixes in an over, during a barnstorming and unlikely
12-ball fifty. It wasn’t entirely all batsmen-led action
however, as Brett Lee claimed the first hat-trick in
Twenty20 internationals, for Australia against
Bangladesh. The breathless tournament culminated in a
final that thrilled from start to finish, as India and
Pakistan battled it out for the trophy. The match went
down to a final-over thriller, with Pakistan needing six
from the last four balls. But India eventually triumphed
as Misbah-ul-Haq’s attempted scoop off Joginder Singh
landed in the hands of Sreesanth at short fine-leg.
Mathew Hayden was the top run getter with 265 runs and
Umar Gul took the most wickets, 13. Craig McMillan hit
13 sixes in the tournament, highest by any player.

T20 World Cup 2009

Winner : Pakistan
in this tourament was same as the first one: four groups
of three, then two groups of four in quarter-finals; top
two into semi-finals. This competition was played in
London, Lord’s and Oval, and Nottingham. Out of the 10
full members, Zimbabwe withdrew its participation.
Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland qualified for the
tournament. It was full of surprise victories, as
favourites fell at the hands of underdogs. The hosts,
England, set the ball rolling in the first match of the
tournament as they were embarrassed by Netherlands in a
final-ball thriller. Australia were dominated by West
Indies, largely thanks to a thunderous innings by Chris
Gayle, as he hit 88 off 50 balls, including some of the
largest sixes seen in England. Australia were then
defeated by Sri Lanka, who bowled tightly and batted
with dominance, including quick-fire half centuries from
Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara. Ireland beat
Bangladesh in the Group Stage to qualify for the Super
Eight. Previous champions, India, lost all its matches
of the Super Eight Stage. South Africa hadn’t lost a
group stage match going in to the semi-finals against
Pakistan, but Shahid Afridi produced a match winning
performance with both bat and ball. He blasted his way
to 51 and bagged two wickets for 16 runs to secure
victory. The final at Lord’s was a repeat of a group
stage match between Sri Lanka and Pakistan; the latter
lost the previous encounter. Pakistan managed to remove
Dilshan, the Player of the Series for his 317 runs,
without scoring, which had a big impact on the Sri Lanka
innings. Sangakkara put up a fight scoring an unbeaten
64, but a target of 138 wasn’t going to be easy to
defend. Afridi proved this to be correct, hitting an
unbeaten 54, which helped Pakistan win the trophy with 8
balls to spare. Umar Gul was the top wicket taker with
13 wickets, a repeat performance of 2007 edition. Yuvraj
Singh hit the most sixes in the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2010

Winner :
West Indies hosted the third World Twenty20 a little over eight
months after the previous tournament. The format in this
tournament too same as in the previous two. The 12 teams
consisted of the ten full members and two associates. England
proved the surprise package, winning their first major limited-overs
trophy with a comprehensive victory over Australia in the final.
The Australians had provided amazing fireworks in the semi-final
when Pakistan appeared on course for a second final only for
Michael Hussey to smash 26 from five deliveries (in a 24-ball 60
not out) to win the game with a ball to spare. The significant
strugglers were India and South Africa; one disturbed by the
short ball, the other unable to pace a run chase. In this
edition too, India lost all the three matches of the Super-8
stage. To the frustration of the commercial gurus in the game,
India’s elimination before the semi-finals again meant lost
revenue. The two Associates – Ireland and Afghanistan – far from
disgraced themselves. Mahela Jayawardene scored 302 runs,
maximum in this edition of World T20. Dirk Nannes, the Dutch
bowler who later qualified for Australian selection was the
highest wicket taker with 14 wickets. Cameron White with 12
sixes topped the number of sixes chart.

T20 World Cup 2012

Winner :
West Indies
was the first time the World Twenty20 tournament took place in
an Asian country. The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 was hosted by Sri
Lanka: Hambantota, Pallekele and Premadasa Stadium. It was
played by the same 12 teams that played in the 2010 tournament,
Ireland and Afghanistan besides the ten full members. For the
first time, a host nation managed to get on to the knock-out
stage of the of the ICC World Twenty20. Tournament was won by
the West-Indies, by defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs. It was by
the virtue of power packed 78 by Marlon Samuels followed by some
tight bowling by the slow bowlers. Ironically West Indies
qualified for the Super-8 stage without winning even a single
match in the initial round. Pakistan and Australia were the
losing semi-finalist, with Pakistan making into last four on all
the occasions and Australia missing only in 2009. India won both
the matches of the first round becoming the only team not to
lose even a single first round match in the first four editions
of the ICC World Twenty20. Shane Watson topped the run charts
with 249 runs.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top